Main Previous

Like Us On Facebook

Follow Us On Twitter 


Jhumpa Lahiri

(Photo Credit: Left, Jhumpa Lahiri's FB page; Right, from her website ) 

As per the DSC website, shortlist of the 2015 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature was announced at the London School of Economics on Thursday, November 27th 2014.

The final five who have made it to the list are-
  1. Jhumpa Lahiri's 'The Lowland'
  2. Shamsur Rahman Faruqi's 'The Mirror of Beauty', 
  3. Bilal Tanweer's 'The Scatter Here is Too Great', 
  4. Kamila Shamsie's 'A God in Every Stone', 
  5. Romesh Gunesekera's 'Noontide Toll'

Our Proud Sponsor: (Ask us how YOU can be our sponsor here.)  

New SAT Math classes starting soon ... visit our website to find out more.

“SAT Math course is really good because it helped me learn a lot in a short period of time and I made a perfect score on SAT Math.”- Josette Chang  

Among those who make it, two authors are of Indian origin. The 1967 born, Jhumpa Lahiri  is the author of 'Interpreter of Maladies', 'The Namesake', and 'Unaccustomed Earth'. She won the coveted Pulitzer Prize in 2000 for 'Interpreter of Maladies' & in 2003 for 'The Namesake'.  A film version of The Namesake (directed by Mira Nair) was released in 2007. Born in London, Lahiri moved to Rhode Island as a young child with her Bengali parents. She has since lived in America.

The second author of Indian origin is renowned Indian poet and one of the foremost Urdu theorists Shamsur Rahman Faruqi . There are two Pakistani authors- Bilal Tanweer and Kamila Shamsie (A God in Every Stone – Bloomsbury, India). There is one Sri Lankan born British  writer Romesh Gunesekera. The landscape in all the novels was quintessentially South Asian, most of them grappling with the socio-political realities on the ground.

According to the DSC website, the winner of the award will receive $50,000. It will be awarded at the renowned ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival on 22nd January 2015. The US $50,000 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature was co-founded in 2010 by mother-son duo Mrs. Surina Narula MBE and Mr. Manhad Narula. Mrs. Surina Narula MBE is a highly-renowned charity patron, with over twenty years experience in creating and spearheading the strategic development of some of the world’s largest charities, including PLAN International, International Childcare Trust and Hope for Children. Mrs. Narula is also an accomplished entrepreneur, working in the family business, the DSC Group, an international conglomerate focused on real estate, construction, infrastructure and retail. Mrs. Narula was responsible for spearheading the launch of Ebony, India’s first department store. In 2008, Mrs. Narula was made an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for her charitable works in India.

The coveted prize of US $50,000 is presented to the winning author who could be from any ethnicity or nationality provided they write about South Asia and its people. 

We say heartiest congratulations to all of the esteemed authors. May the best man, or woman, win! However, no matter who wins, seems like the winner will be an Indian publishing house for all of the novels in the list have been published in India.


Main Previous

Widget is loading comments...

 Visit the desi shoppe @ desideewar for beautiful designer Anarkali Suits!

Ankle-length Designer Anarkali! With Chooridar and Dupatta! Free Shipping Anywhere in the US and up to $25 rebate towards re-fitting!